LANCASTER, NY – Dave Russell of Clarence, N.Y., worked his way to the front of the field quickly and went on to win the first Race of Champions Late Model Series race fueled by Sunoco of the 2017 season at Lancaster National Speedway.

“We had a great car tonight,” smiled Russell after catching his breath in Victory Lane fueled by Sunoco. “It was a challenging race out there, we just worked our way to the front and there was Bobby (Weber) at the end. He made a race out of it and we had to earn it.”

Russell, started 5th and quickly worked his way to the top spot in the 30-lap race passing early race leader Terry Weldy.

Bob Weber of Clarence, N.Y., worked his way to second and nearly the lead on a late race restart but was held off by Russell. Eldon King, III of Freedom, N.Y. finished third. Tommy Catalano of Ontario, N.Y., finished fourth and Frank Batista, Jr., rounded out the top-five.

After review of the Super Stock race from Saturday, July 8, 2017, the finish order of the race is included and the results posted are official. The race was extended with a final green-white-checker finish as declared by the Race of Champions Race Director present at the event over the one-way radio, as stated in the Race of Champions rule book and competition format for the event. It also must be noted that once an event is extended the actual conclusion on the race track, is the finish of the race as per the Race Director of the event’s decision to extend the race, including the green-white-checker which is a Race Procedure decision that is final, non-appealable per section E. of the 2017 Race of Champions rule book.

Shawn Frarey of Webster, N.Y., is the winner followed by Josh Hunter (2nd) and Tommy Reese (3rd). Robert Fink and Vern Hedderick rounded out the top-five. The results of the July 8, 2017 event are included in the results section of this release.

The Race of Champions is a sanctioning body presenting Modified and Stock Car racing on asphalt and dirt surfaces throughout the Northeast, with events in New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey. The 67th annual Race of Champions weekend will take place in 2017 at Lake Erie Speedway in North East, Pennsylvania and is the second longest consecutive auto-racing event in North America, second only to the Indianapolis 500.

For more information, contact;
Race of Champions Media at media@rocmodifiedseries.com
Follow us on Twitter; Instagram and Facebook; @RoCModSeries or visit our website: www.rocmodifiedseries.com

Feature Finish
Retro Night 30
Lancaster National Speedway, Lancaster, N.Y.

Pos Car Number Name

1 93 Dave Russell
2 11 Bobby Weber
3 0 Eldon King III
4 07x Tommy Catalano
5 37 Frank Batista, Jr.
6 66 Terry Weldy
7 48 Sammy Fullone
8 9c Jeff Ruddy
9 07 Nick Crassi
10 31x Ron Richner
11 2 Ron Nurmi
12 20 Scott Nurmi
13 9s Chola Shay
14 12 Bob Minacapelli
15 09 John Julicher

Qualifying Race 1 Finish

Pos Car Number Name

1 12 Bob Minacapelli
2 66 Terry Weldy
3 11 Bob Weber
4 2 Ron Nurmi
5 9 Chola Shay
6 37 Frank Batista, Jr.
7 20 Scott Nurmi

Qualifying Race 2 Finish

Pos Car Number Name

1 48 Sam Fullone
2 93 Dave Russell
3 0 Eldon King III
4 07 Nick Crassi
5 9 Jeff Ruddy
6 31x Ron Richner
7 09 John Julicher

Feature Finish
Race of Champions Super Stock Finish – July 8, 2017
Lancaster National Speedway, Lancaster, N.Y.

Pos Car Number Name
1 38 Shaun Frarey
2 7 Josh Hunter
3 81 Tommy Reese
4 78 Robert Fink
5 1 Vern Hedderick
6 96 Dana Nova
7 03 Dale Lazzaro
8 92 Ryan Lagoda
9 1x Rob Misczak
10 89 Pete Pieczynski
11 75 Zack Willis
12 84 Josh Schoonmaker
13 37 Bobby Shosek
14 19 Jeff Whalen
15 M37 Tim Gullo
16 31x Ron Richner
17 48 Tommy Krawczyk
18 28 Tom Barron
19 52 Joel Gleason
20 64 Joe Mancuso

Qualifying Race 1

Pos Car Number Name

1 M37 Tim Gullo
2 81 Tommy Reese
3 48 Tommy Krawczyk
4 28 Tommy Barron
5 64 Joe Mancuso
6 52 Joel Gleason

Qualifying Race 2

Pos Car Number Name

1 78 Robert Fink
2 38 Shaun Frarey
3 19 Jeff Whalen
4 75 Zack Willis
5 92 Ryan Lagoda
6 96 Dana Nova
7 03 Dale Lazzaro

Qualifying Race 2

Pos Car Number Name

1 7 Josh Hunter
2 37 Bobby Shosek
3 1 Vern Hedderick
4 84 Josh Schoonmaker
5 89 Pete Pieczynski
6 1x Rob Misczak
7 31x Ron Richner