EVANS MILLS, NY –  Scott Wylie of Blasdell, N.Y., drove to his first ever Race of Champions Series victory this past Sunday evening at Evans Mills (N.Y.) Speedway in the Race of Champions Asphalt Sportsman Modified Series first ever visit to the challenging facility.
Wylie drew the pole, slipped back in the field and regained the lead on lap 30 and held off Connor Sellars of Owego, N.Y., to earn the victory.

“We had a good car and some breaks definitely went our way,” offered Wylie in victory lane. “We did slip back in the field but just kept digging and things worked out in our favor. It was a great night for us. I’m thankful to be driving for Paul Graff and his team. Today was a great day for us.”

Wylie redrew the pole after the qualifying races before Andy Lewis of Ontario, N.Y., took over the top spot. Wylie worked his way back into the top spot on lap 30 with heavy pressure from Sellars until the checkered flag waved.

Andy Jankowiak of Buffalo, N.Y., recovered from a mid-race penalty to finish third.
Kevin Timmerman of Ontario, N.Y., drove from 12th to finish fourth. Evans Mills Speedway regular Randy Brunelle of Malone, N.Y., rounded out the top-five.

Daryl Lewis, Jr., of Ontario, N.Y., posted the fastest time during green-white-checker qualifying. Daryl Lewis, Andy Lewis and Sellars won the qualifying races.

The Race of Champions is a sanctioning body presenting Modified and Stock Car racing on asphalt and dirt surfaces throughout the Northeast, with events in New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey with primary marketing partners Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, US Army, Upstate Automotive Group, Waddell Communications, Pilat Graphic Design, Jerico Performance, TDH Refrigeration, Sherwood Racing Wheels, and The 68th annual Race of Champions weekend will take place in 2018 at Lake Erie Speedway in North East, Pennsylvania and is the second longest consecutive auto-racing event in North America, second only to the Indianapolis 500.

For more information, contact;

Race of Champions Media at

Follow us on Twitter; Instagram and Facebook; @RoCModSeries or visit our website:

Feature Finish
Number One Speed “50” (50-laps)
Evans Mills Speedway, Evans Mills, N.Y.
Finishing Position, Car Number, Driver, Laps Completed, Reason Out (If Any)

Finish Starting Position No. Name Laps

1 1 44 Scott Wylie 50
2 5 00 Connor Sellars
3 7 41x Andy Jankowiak
4 12 17 Kevin Timmerman
5 15 15 Randy Brunelle
6 19 36 Dave Koslowski
7 9 74 Sherri Hogan
8 13 09 Mike Ramos
9 3 65 Andy Lewis
10 14 10 Jason Christman
11 18 41l Timmy Lewis
12 20 6 Tim Alloco 49
13 17 006 Corey Trombley 46
14 16 96 Don Pringle
15 10 1 Mike Leaty
16 4 8 Chris Finnochario 45
17 2 11 Jerry Dineen
18 11 4 Vern Lafavre 44
19 8 2x Kyle Hafemann 19
20 6 10 Daryl Lewis, Jr. 2

Qualifying Race Winners: Daryl Lewis, Jr.; Andy Lewis; Connor Sellars