WALL TOWNSHIP, NJ – All American Auto Group Racing Series stock car driver Chas Okerson got a second chance at Wall Stadium Speedway. One week earlier while dominating the 40-lap Pete and Elda’s Bar/Carmen’s Pizzeria 40-lap feature race, the Freehold speedster suffered the failure of a small ignition part which not only stole away the victory but also knocked him out of the race. On Saturday night the four time Modified champion found himself in the same position as the week before, dominating the main event, and this time raced on to the victory.

While Okerson was romping out front, the big battle of the event was for second and Jackson’s Jason Treat fought off the advances of Holmdel’s Andrew Krause for nearly 30 laps to take the runner-up spot. Howell’s Jimmy Blewett and Kenny Van Wickle of Manasquan wrapped up the top five.

“As I was leading the race I was thinking about that part and how many things can go against your in a race,” Okerson said. “My family and crew go over every nut and bolt before every race and that is all you can. I thought about another part failure tonight, but I also thought about how good my crew is.”

Mike Montano of Freeport, N.Y. And Richie Byrne of Howell, later joined by Elliot Wohl of Bayville, wrestled furiously for the lead of the 25-lapper for the O’Shea’s Auto Repair Factory Stocks before point leader Montano edged ahead for his third win of the year. Montano, Byrne and Wohl were followed in the top five by Wall’s Bob Haberstick and Manchester’s Scott Riggleman.

Jarret DiGiantomasso of Jackson won his second Center State Engineering Sportsman 25-lapper with Howell’s Kevin Davison and his brother, Carsten DiGiantomasso, close behind. Louie Keraitis of Toms River and Michael Rising of red Bank were fourth and fifth.

Manchester’s Shanon Mongeau grabbed the win in the Mike’s Performance Center Limited Late Model 25-lapper over his uncle, Joe Mongeau of Brick. Long island’s Ken Matlach, Carteret’s Harry Scheaffer and Holmdel’s Dom Casola wrapped up the top five.

Nick Van Wickle of Edgewater Park won his second straight main event for the Green Flag Driving Experience Legend Cars. Joe McGrath of of Middletown, Little Silver’s Peter Bruno, Rob Silver of Howell and James Van Wickle were second through fifth.

Cole Mullen of Brick won his first ever main event with the touring ATQMRA TQ Midgets at the track he grew up at on Saturday night. His father, veteran Wall driver Ronnie Mullen who was also in the race, joined him for an emotional victory lane celebration.

The All American Auto Group Racing Series continues this Saturday evening (July 14) with the Modifieds racing in a 125-lap main event. The Factory Stocks, Legend Cars and the Surfside Collision 4 Cylinder Stocks are also on the agenda. Grandstands open at 5:00 p.m., with qualifying set for 5:45 p.m. and feature race action set for 7:00 p.m.

Saturday night racing action continues through early October with schedule details at wallspeedwayracing.com.

Wall Stadium is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, N.J., just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400 and email address is ckmotorsports@aol.com.


MODIFIED FEATURE – 40 Laps – 1. CHAS OKERSON, FREEHOLD, 2. Jason Treat, 3. Andrew Krause, 4. Jimmy Blewett, 5. Kenny Van Wickle, 6. Derek Hopkinson, 7. Joey Merlino, 8. Steven Reed

FACTORY STOCK FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. MIKE MONTANO, FREEPORT, N.Y., 2. Richie Byrne, 3. Elliot Wohl, 4. Bob Haberstick, 5. Scott Riggleman, 6. John Carpenter, 7. Tom Rajkowski, 8. Tim Majek, 9. Robert Ptaszynski, 10. Whitey Miller, 11. Nancy Riggleman, 12. Bryan O’Shea, 13. Gerry Koenig, 14. Robert DePonte, 15. John Bowers, 16. Kenny Green, 17. Theresa Collins, 18. Matt Badessa, 19. Tony Bartone, 20. Matt Malachatka, 21. Tim O’Shea

SPORTSMAN FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. JARRET DIGIANTOMASSO, JACKSON, 2. Kevin Davison, 3. Carsten DiGiantomasso, 4. Louie Keraitis, 5. Michael Rising, 6. John Blewett IV, 7. Joe Cooley, 8. Eric Lane, 9. Jake Nelke, 10 Eddie McCarthy, DQ Jonathan Laureigh

LIMITED LATE MODEL FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. SHANON MONGEAU, MANCHESTER, 2. Joe Mongeau, 3. Ken Matlach, 4. Harry Scheaffer, 5. Dom Casola, 6. Mike Tillett, 7. Andy Gamble, 8. Greg Gastelu

LEGEND CARS FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. NICK VAN WICKLE, EDGEWATER PARK, 2. Joe McGrath, 3. Peter Bruno, 4. Rob Silver, 5. James Van Wickle, 6. Joe Przybylinski, 7. Roger Nickerson